Hickok's Hotel & Casino was constructed in 1899 as the Waite Block and originally housed the John C. Haines department store and the Great Eastern Coffee
& Tea Co. on the main floor. Later department store tenants in the Waite Block included Montogomery Ward. Upper floors were reserved for smaller offices and apartments, including the offices of the Waite Block's architect O.C. Jewett.
Now totally renovated, today Hickok's boasts of twenty two beautifully restored hotel rooms and suites, a fine dining restaurant, and an award winning pizza pub. Historic preservation experts often point to Hickok's Hotel and Casino as a great example of Deadwood's continuing historic preservation and restoration effort.